New Page 1
News Desk


 Chief Minister, Tarun Gogoi Handed Over ERDF Excellence Award- 2015



“Recognition and appreciation of any good work is the spirit behind doing more good works and to die for good works” said Shri Tarun Gogoi, Chief Minister of Assam today while handing over ERDF Excellence Award -15 in a function held in the University of Science and Technology Meghalaya. Speaking on the occasion Sri Tarun Gogoi Chief Minister of Assam applauded the ERDF for instituting the award for recognising and appreciating the contribution of eminent citizens of Assam and hoped that this will encourage the recipients of the Award to rededicate themselves to achieve greater heights and encourage the younger generation to emulate them. The Chief Minister welcomed the participation of private sector in the development of higher education in the North East and called upon private entrepreneurs and corporate houses to come forward and take higher education forward without compromising the quality. Shri Gogoi also highlighted the commitment of Government of Assam for development of higher education in Assam.
Instituted in 2006 the ERDF Excellence Award is conferred every year on eminent citizens of Assam for their life time achievements and contributions to the Society in various fields. Since inception of the award in 2006 more than 150 eminent personalities have already been conferred the award.
This year ERDF Excellence Award has been conferred on eighteen eminent personalities of Assam who have achieved excellence in various fields and contributed immensely to the society. They are D.N.Buragohain, Founder Director, IIT Guwahati ; Dr. Nomal Chandra Borah , Founder GNRCHospital; Shri D.N.Chakraborty, renowned Journalist; Dr.AlokaGoswami, Renowned Gynecologist; Professor Manirul Hussan, Professor Department of Political Science, GU; Dr.NagenSaikia Former President AsomSahityaSabha; Fr.V.M.Thomas, Provincial Superior, Salesian of DonBosco, NER&Chancellor, AssamDonBoscoUniversity, Dr.BibhashDev, FormerDirector, CDC, AssamUniversity,Silchar; Dr.Harsha Bhattacharyya, Founder & Medical Director, Sri Sankar Deva Netralaya,Guwahati; Prof. Ali Haidar Laskar, former Principal, SS College Hailakandi&Historian; Dr.Kamaluddin Ahmed, former Principal KarimganjCollege;Mr.UdhabBharali ,Innovator;Dr.S.I Ahmed Activist –NACO; Madam CS Lama, founder, Assam BudhaVihar; Anis Uzzaman, Poet and Ex.APSC Member; Shri A.K Pansari, entrepreneur, founder Royal Group of Institutions; Shri D.N.Basumatari, Additional Director General(NER&EZ,DDK &AIR)Guwahati.
Earlier in his welcome address Mahbul Hoque, Chairman, ERDF and Chancellor USTM outlined the growth and development of ERDF institutions expressed his deep gratitude to all concerned for extending help and guidance in the ERDF growth path.
The function was attended by a large number of dignitaries from various walks of life. Also they appreciated the endeavour of the ERDF and institutions in promoting the higher education in North East and offered their best wishes.





View other News>>  .